In accordance with the mission of the college to provide quality education and to motivate achievement of excellence in every field of life, the Department of Physics with its dedicated faculty creates scholars capable of transforming society. Ever since its inception in the year 1960, the Department of Physics has produced commendable results. It became a PG department in the year 1998. The Department has 5 permanent faculty members with 2 Ph. D. holders and 3 engaged in doctoral programs. The Department became an approved research center of Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam, Kerala in 2020. The department offers programs at (i) Graduate, (ii) Post-Graduate, and (iii) Doctoral level.


To ensure that every student has equal chances and to instill a feeling of social responsibility, humanitarian values, and scientific temper.


To ensure that students acquire both theoretical and practical problem-solving skills; the capacity to evaluate numerical and graphical data critically; logical and analytical reasoning; critical thinking; and the development of research interests.